FSU Biology - Cell & Molecular Biology
Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Contact Us  |  Home

CMB Students Currently in the Graduate Program

Graduate Student
Sara Akram


ha20be@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Lorea Arambarri


larambarri@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Dennis
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Daniel Bartlett


dbartlett@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Gilbert
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Anandi Batabyal


ab20if@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Shahin Behrouz Sharif


ssharif@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Tracey Bell


tbell@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Jane Benoit

My overarching interest is in the innate and adaptive immune responses to viral pathogens on a molecular level. Host cell-pathogen interactions result in changes in chromatin remodeling and architecture in addition to changes in gene expression and other responses. Understanding the molecular processes behind changes in chromatin states on the nucleosomal level is of great importance to molecular biology and immunology.

jbenoit@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Katherine Bilodeau


kbilodeau@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Cecilia Bouaichi


cbouaichi@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Nina Bui

My research investigates the molecular mechanisms of Zika virus pathogenesis in human neural progenitor stem cells. I am interested in Zika virus infection in regards to its high association with congenital birth defects such as infantile Microcephaly.

nbui@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Tang
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Gabriel Calvin


gcalvin@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Christopher Carroll


crcarroll@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Lauren Carson


lacarson@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Trirupa Chakraborty


tc20cz@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Yichen Cheng


yc14b@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Tang
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Ishwaree Datta


ishwareedatta94@gmail.com
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Gabrielle Fisher


gtf17@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Jones
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Yashika Garg


ygarg@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Rubel Hoq


mhoq@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Mahdi Khadem


mkhadem@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Kathryn Koirtyohann


kkoirtyohann@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Linhui Li


lli@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Ashley Loeven

My research interests lie in understanding intracellular signaling that mediates dietary fat-induced inflammation and irreversible loss of olfactory sensory neurons in mouse models.

aloeven@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Debi Fadool
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Jason Lynn


jlynn@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. McGinnis
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Siming Ma


sma@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Zhu
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Calvin Mackey


cmackey@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Dylan Marin


dm19w@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Angelica Medina


mmedina@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Tang
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Daniel Murray

My research focus as a member of Stroupe Lab is on microbial enzymes involved in sulfur metabolism, particularly those responsible for sulfur reduction and the biogenesis of associated cofactors. We use a blend of biochemical and structural techniques to answer structure-function mysteries regarding these enzymes.

dmurray@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Stroupe
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Stacey Pierre


spierre@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Griffin Pratt


gpratt@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Meizhu Qi


mqi@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Debra Fadool
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Maria Quintero Rodriquez


mquintero@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Hosna Rastegarpouyani


hr18d@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Bryce Redfern


bredfern@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Juan Reza

During my current research on SARS-CoV-2, I have designed viral mimic constructs, short-interfering RNA constructs and software to assist in design and test. I develop new protocols for viral infection and gene knock-down experiments at the bench. Of particular interest is a technology-based protocol for compiling experiment-specific RNA-generating plasmids without traditional bacterial cloning amplification.
For my doctoral work, I identify open scientific questions and research challenges in biological science where I intend to apply my experience as a software engineer to innovate and form cross-functional science collaborations.

jreza@fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Bass
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Sayantan Roy


sayantanroybcm@yahoo.com
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Yin
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Sadia Sayed


ssayed@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Chadwick
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Lauren Schulte


lschulte@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. McGinnis
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Charlie Seibert


cseibert@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Fraser
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Yun Shi

My research interest focuses on understanding how chromosome segregation is regulated during meiosis.

yshi@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Sixian Song


songsixian_apply@163.com
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Divyaa Srinivasan


dsrinivasan@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Jesse Turner

I am interested in the 3D organization of chromatin within the nucleus and how that relates to other nuclear functions, such as transcription and DNA replication. My current project in the lab is investigating early replication control elements (ERCEs), a discrete class of cis-regulatory elements that act as "enhancers of early replication," but also have roles in maintaining sub-nuclear compartmentalization, transcription, and TAD structure. (he/him/his)

jturner@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Gilbert
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Zachary Turpin


zturpin@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Bass
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Paola Urlich


pu19@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Athanasios Vouzas


avouzas@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Nick Waddell


nwaddell@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Nidhi Walia


nwalia@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Miao Wang


mw18f@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Zhu
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Natalia Westervelt

Research focus is the role of long tandem repeats on the X chromosome and their involvement in X inactivation and other pathways.

nwestervelt@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Chadwick
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Rui Yang


ryang@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Andrea Yoest

My research interests involve X chromosome inactivation and genes expressed exclusively in the X inactivation center (XIC), mainly the X-inactive specific transcript (XIST). I also study posttranslational modifications of the X chromosome and how they are involved in X inactivation and gene expression.

ayoest@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor:
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Peiyao Zhao


pzhao@bio.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Gilbert
second major professor:



Graduate Student
Yijing Zhao

I am interested in studying the impact of Zika virus on cell cycle progression.

yz18@my.fsu.edu
phone:
fax:
major professor: Dr. Tang
second major professor: