2019 Thistle Vacation Diaries

E-mail Anne        E-mail David

Viewing my travel diaries as I intended: Except for the earliest of them, my diary pages are set up to display pairs of photos side by side, with text between, above, and below them. Because everyone's browser settings are different, they may not display that way on your screen. To view them as I set them up, narrow your browser window until the photos line up in side-by-side pairs and do not touch the ones above or below them. If you can't get that to work, try (in addition) adjusting the size at which text is displayed on your screen. In my browser, that's control-"+" to increase the size or control-"-" to decrease it. Good luck!

Here's the Paris segment. Still working on the Viking segment . . . .

Paris on our own, then Paris to Zurich with Viking

Planning ahead
Tuesday, 11 June, Tallahassee to Paris
Wednesday, 12 June, The rest of the way from Tallahassee to Paris, but without counterfeiting
Thursday, 13 June, Impressionists at Louis Vuitton and tasting at Jacques Faussat
Friday, 14 June, Science with 500,000 five-year-olds and Frédéric Simonin
Saturday, 15 June, Danish painting at the Jacquemart-Andrée and stood up for dinner
Sunday, 16 June, Musée Grévin, the Mint, and Pur'
Monday, 17 June, Gaugin writ large at the Atelier des Lumières; Violon d'Ingres by wayward bus
Tuesday, 18 June, Chez Marianne, Cognacq-Jaye, Chez l'Ami Jean
Wednesday, 19 June, The Opéra Bastille and Sur Mésur
Thursday, 20 June, The two halves of the Musée d'Arts Décoratifs and Au Trou Gascon
Friday, 21 June, Serendipitous impressionists and David Toutain
Saturday, 22 June, Rendez-vous with Viking and the Drouot Auction Rooms, then Passage 53
Sunday, 23 June, Lazy Day in Paris, with food
Monday, 24 June, Into the buses and off to Germany with Viking
Tuesday, 25 June, Tour of Trier and tasting at Bernkastel-Kues
Wednesday, 26 June, Cochem Reichsburg Castle, city tour, and wine tasting, without bicycles or kayaks
Thursday, 27 June, Koblenz and castles at teatime
Friday, 28 June,
Saturday, 29 June,
Sunday, 30 June,
Monday, 1 July,
Tuesday, 2 July,
Wednesday, 3 July,
Miscellaneous stuff,
Restaurant and museum summary