2012 Thistle Vacation Diaries

E-mail Anne        E-mail David

Viewing my travel diaries as I intended: Except for the earliest of them, my diary pages are set up to display pairs of photos side by side, with text between, above, and below them. Because everyone's browser settings are different, they may not display that way on your screen. To view them as I set them up, narrow your browser window until the photos line up in side-by-side pairs and do not touch the ones above or below them. If you can't get that to work, try (in addition) adjusting the size at which text is displayed on your screen. In my browser, that's control-"+" to increase the size or control-"-" to decrease it. Good luck!


     New Zealand and Australia        

London, Southampton, Paris, and Normandy (some of it with CJ)

April 2012, Planning ahead
Sunday, 27 May 2012, Complications and Celebrations
Saturday, 2 June 2012, Outa here (Tallahassee to London)
Sunday, 3 June 2012, The Lion King
Monday, 4 June 2012, Shrek
Tuesday, 5 June 2012, Noises Off
Wednesday, 6 June 2012, London to Southampton
Thursday, 7 June 2012, Commemorative oceanography
Friday, 8 June 2012, More science, good food, and camaradery
Saturday, 9 June 2012, Southampton to Paris (and CJ's news flash!)
Sunday, 10 June 2012, Monet and Morisot
Monday, 11 June 2012, The Louvre and the Marais
Tuesday, 12 June 2012, Paris to Rouen (David joins the 5th grade)
Wednesday, 13 June 2012, Walking tour and art museum
Thursday, 14 June 2012, Rouen to Le Havre, via Jumiège
Friday, 15 June 2012, Le Havre, Porte de l'Europe
Saturday, 16 June 2012, Le Havre to Caen, via Honfleur
Saturday, 16 June 2012, Special: Donald's grave
Sunday, 17 June 2012, World War II
Monday, 18 June 2012, Caen to Bayeux, via le Point du Hoc
Tuesday, 19 June 2012, The tapestry and the cathedral
Wednesday, 20 June 2012, Bayeux to Avranches: Patton on the way to Mont Saint Michel
Thursday, 21 June 2012, Avranches to l'Aigle, via the Mortain offensive and the Falaise pocket
Friday, 22 June 2012, l'Aigle to Paris Charles De Gaulle via Versailles and a very long tunnel
Saturday, 23 June 2012, Paris to Tallahassee: Roissypole demystified
Hotel and restaurant summary, 2012

New Zealand and Australia (for the Deep-Sea Meetings)

Monday, 26 November 2012, Planning ahead?
Tuesday, 27 November 2012, Tallahassee to Auckland
Wednesday, 28 November 2012, cancelled, on account of the international date line
Thursday, 29 November 2012, Auckland: Arataki visitors' center and the downtown museum
Friday, 30 November 2012, Auckland: Whatipu, Villa Maria Winery, and the Auckland waterfront
Saturday, 1 December 2012, Auckland: fish market and nature trail
Sunday, 2 December 2012, Auckland to Wellington
Monday, 3 December 2012, Wellington, Zealandia
Tuesday, 4 December 2012, Wellington, the zoo
Wednesday, 5 December 2012, Wellington, Te Papa
Thursday, 6 December 2012, Wellington, Te Papa again
Friday, 7 December 2012, Welington, the Botanical Garden
Saturday, 8 December 2012, Wellington to Sydney
Sunday, 9 December 2012, Sydney, the toothache
Monday, 10 December 2012, Sydney, the dentist
Tuesday, 11 December 2012, Sydney, downtown
Wednesday, 12 December 2012, Sydney to Tallahassee and epilogue

Thistle Home Base